top of page

My Belize Youth STM Trip

Updated: Sep 7, 2023

If I’m being honest, I didn’t want to go to Belize. I actually had numerous excuses lined up for myself as to why I shouldn’t attend: I felt unqualified, lazy, not great with children, and just simply “not a good enough Christian”. Satan works in many ways, but God works in more. My passport arrived just a couple of weeks before the trip, and David’s persistent emails left me with no excuse but to attend the final two meetings. I’ll never understand, but I will forever appreciate David’s patience and faith in me to attend this trip.


We arrived in Corozal on July 7th. The first couple of days were mainly spent in preparation for the upcoming Vacation Bible School. During those days, we had dinner with Pastor Nehru, attended Sunday service, and got to know some of the children attending the church. It was on that first Sunday that all my doubts about coming to Belize dissipated. The children there are warm, welcoming, humble, incredibly hardworking, and so eager to learn. I believe VBS was successful largely due to its wonderful participants.


Our mission here was to teach and serve the children. God clearly stood by us throughout the week as we navigated through uncertainties and sudden changes, as the kids seemed to be grasping the topics quite well. It’s difficult at the moment to acknowledge the positive aspects, but the encouraging feedback from parents and family members was highly motivating for our entire team, and at the end of the week I truly believe I was able to learn even more from them.


These are some of the most amazing, kind-hearted children I have ever met, and I would love to introduce you all to a specific group of boys who touched my and the other team members’ hearts: the J’s:

Jair (11 yrs, the oldest of the J’s)- such a bright, caring soul and just the best big brother to his siblings. His favorite things in the entire world are soccer, takis, ramen, and car video games. He has a wonderfully outgoing personality and never fails to make the people around him laugh.


Jey (9 yrs, second child)- When you look at Jey, you can’t help but smile. He is 4 ft, round, and has the most adorable laugh. I remember being impressed as I watched him effortlessly carry a chalkboard frame about twice his height through a doorway. Not only is this young boy competent, and passionate, but he is also funny. It was Jey who blasted a loud horn in a supermarket and fist-bumped me after Keith’s light scolding. Jey, who sometimes acted like he wasn’t paying attention, knew the answer to all the questions. It was Jey who helped carry his baby brother to the building when he was too tired to walk, and Jey who turned away to wipe his eyes so I wouldn’t see his tears as I cried into his shoulder on our last day. Sweet Jey who continues to send me drawings he makes of us two, even now when I’m in America.


Jahim (6 yrs, 3rd oldest)- a little quieter than his older brothers, but has a heart just as kind. Jahim loved to help us with service projects and really looked up to his siblings. I would say Jahim took the longest to open up, but once he did he would always stick by your side. Jahim is also incredibly brave. Not long after we left Belize, the J’s informed me Jahim had injured his foot pretty badly. Yet much to my surprise, Jahim made sure to let us know he did not even cry as the doctors stitched together his foot!


I always knew leaving would be difficult, but I was not prepared for how much I would miss the children now that I am back in the US. However, I can look back fondly on this time and be reminded of the kindest, most selfless people and God’s amazing performance in their lives.

From Left: Dorothy Yip, David Wang, Henry Wang, Hanna Wang, Yuxi Lei, Lana Lin, Grace Zhu, Hannah Shen, and Keith Wong

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Welcome from Missions Committee Chair

Dear ACC brothers and sisters, Welcome to the 2023 ACC Missions Conference! The theme of the 2023 Missions conference is “The Cross, The Church, to All Creation”. It is our great honor that we will ha

bottom of page